2013 Hot Wheels Archie Comics Super Van

This is for my wife, who has been a longtime fan of Archie Comics. In this case, it also works out fine for me, because I have been a longtime fan of the Hot Wheels Super Van. I’ve had a flamed-out black version since I was a kid. (For more on Archie Comics, see below the photos.)

The original Super Van was made between 1975 and 1985, the first casting looking much like my childhood model with the exception of the redline tires. Other variations in my collection include the 1977 Paramedic and Thor from 1979. In 2003, Super Van was retooled and many more great variations have come out, including my recently acquired Old El Paso Super Van. This Archie version is pretty sharp, with its two-tone metalflake blue paint, 10-spoke wheels and redline rubber tires.

img_3437 img_3438X8347 | 2013 Archie Comics Pop Culture Series | Super Van | metalflake dark blue & metalflake blue with Archie Comics deco | RLRR10SP | 1:64

Archie first appeared in Pep Comics #22 in 1941. Created by publisher John L. Goldwater, written by Vic Bloom, and drawn by Bob Montana, it wasn’t long before the character had his own title. Archie Comics – whose characters were meant to be relatable to the “regular guy” – went on to be one of the longest running titles in comics history, selling 2 billion comics in a dozen languages distributed worldwide.

I’ve got a box of old comic books that I bought at a garage sale awhile back. Just for fun, here’s a page from an old Archie Comics. It’s missing the cover, but from the ads I can tell it’s from around 1950. As you can see, the stories are typical of “Regular Guy” Archie and his daily misadventures.

archie_comic

6 Comments

      1. No, I don’t. I have a couple of recent issues, but certainly not a collection. (I once read somewhere that you need to have 5 (I think) or more of something for it to be considered a collection.)

        Like

Leave a comment