2019 Hot Wheels Collector Edition ’70 Chevelle Delivery (GameStop Mail-in)

I finally got my Hot Wheels GameStop mail-in ’70 Chevelle Delivery last week. Actually, the first one they sent me – which arrived in a timely fashion back in late November – had a flaw in the tampo and a crack in the blister. I immediately emailed photos to Mattel and they quickly replied to say they would not replace a damaged package, but since there was a flaw in the tampo, they would replace it. They emailed me a pre-paid shipping label and I got it back in the mail right away. And then I waited.

The tampo flaw in my original Chevelle Delivery.

The cracked blister in my original Chevelle Delivery. Also, notice the nice detailing on the taillights of the model.

I have to say, while it took some time to get my replacement, Mattel was very responsive, via email, from the start of placing the order through the receipt of the final package. And it’s a beautiful car, so it was worth the extra effort.

The Hot Wheels ’70 Chevelle SS Wagon was first released in 2009 (see below). The Delivery version came out in 2011 and has been used primarily in the Pop Culture series, decorated with everything from candy and cereal to Scooby-Doo, Batman and Star Trek graphics.

The Collector Edition cars always have nice details, such as the painted grille and headlights shown in the photo below.

Hot Wheels | FYH07 | 2019 HWC Collector Edition (GameStop Mail-In) I ’70 Chevelle SS Delivery | spectraflame orange with white & blue trim | RR8SP | 1:64

The Hot Wheels ’70 Chevelle SS Wagon is one of my favorite castings that I don’t really collect. When it came out as a New Model in 2009, I bought two of the four variations from that first year. Since then I’ve been painfully resisting the more than two dozen versions that have been released over the years.

N4022-A919J 2009 New Models 1970 Chevelle SS Wagon 19/42 yellow/black stripes 1:64

I love how this model sits so low, yet it still has a dramatic rake. I’m also a big fan of the simple but intimidating SS stripes on the hood of these two.

N4022-0919F 2009 New Models 1970 Chevelle SS Wagon 19/42 blue/white stripes 1:64

One Comment

Leave a comment